Tuesday, November 13, 2007


Cleveland Indians Ace C.C. Sabathia used his regular season stats to squeeze by Josh Beckett to win the American League Cy Young award, MLB announced on Monday. Sabathia went 19-7 with a .321 ERA in 34 starts for the AL Central Winning Indians. Beckett finished a distant 2nd with 86 points to Sabathia's 119 points. All votes are cast prior to the start of the playoffs, so all results in the playoffs are not considered for any awards including the Cy Young Award.

2007 AL Cy Young Award Voting
Pitcher, Club 1st 2nd 3rd Points
C.C. Sabathia, CLE 19 8 119
Josh Beckett, BOS 8 14 4 86
John Lackey, LAA 1 5 16 36
Fausto Carmona, CLE 1 4 7
Eric Bedard, BAL 1 1
Roy Halladay, TOR 1 1
Johan Santana, MIN 1 1
Justin Verlander, DET 1 1

No comments: